Sevilla are UEFA Europa League Champions after Lukaku blunder

Spanish side, Sevilla, are champions of the 2020 UEFA Europa League, defeating Inter Milan 3-2 on Friday night to mark their sixth title and their fourth in the last seven seasons.

A brace from Luuk De Jong and an own goal from Romelu Lukaku, saw Lopetegui’s side clinched victory.

The game began with Lukaku awarded a penalty after he was brought down in Sevila’s penalty box by Diego Carlos, the Belgian converted the spot kick giving the Italian side an early lead.

However, the Spanish team came back quickly as Dutch player, De Jong, scored twice within the first 35 minutes of the game.

Diego Godin was the scorer of Inter’s second goal after he headed the ball off a Marcelo Brozovic’s in-direct free-kick just two minutes after De Jong’s second goal.

However, on the 74th minute from another set-piece, Carlos tried a bicycle kick, which Lukaku tried to clear but his first-touch failed him as the ball bounced into the back of his own-goal.

Although Inter tried to get an equalizer it was not to be as the Spanish side secured their six Europa League title and their fourth within seven years.

BBC Sports

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *